This past weekend saw the first of five eFondos which will be held monthly through September. Presented by CyclingTips, the events are held at a time friendly for Australian riders (7am AWST/9am AEST) which means they occur the previous day at 7PM EDT for Americans. These events are targeted at Southern Hemisphere riders, but anyone can participate.

Upcoming eFondo dates:

  • Sunday June 18
  • Sunday July 23
  • Sunday August 20
  • Sunday September 24

What is a Fondo, Anyway?

For those unfamiliar with the term, a fondo (sometimes referred to as a cyclosportif or l’etape) is a mass-start cycling event which falls somewhere between a race and a long hard group ride. This style of ride has gained huge popularity worldwide in recent years, with some fondos attracting 10,000-15,000 participants.

These events generally include race numbers, aid stations, and course marshaling, with prizes awarded to top finishers in each category. Most riders enter knowing they have no chance of winning the race–they simply want to push hard and finish well. Think “fast-casual.” Think “fun-race.”

Ride Details

These Zwift eFondo rides are held on Watopia’s Pretzel route, which is 72.2km (44.9 miles) long with a 1,333m (4,375′) of elevation gain. There is a different kit for each month’s event, and when you complete the ride you will unlock the kit so it is yours to keep. Completing the event is the only way to unlock this badge of honor, so don’t miss out!

To join the event, simply choose between A or C category. The C category is for riders in the 1-2.9 w/kg range, and A is for anyone above that.

Prizes

Eligible Australian and New Zealand Zwifters who complete 3 of the 5 eFondos from May to September will be entered to win a VIP trip to the 2018 Tour Down Under. See Sweepstakes Official Rules for details.